Sayfadaki görseller
PDF
ePub

GLASGOW OBSERVATORY.

In the year 1807, a number of gentlemen formed themselves into a society for promoting astronomical science; and have since received a Seal of Cause from the Magistrates and Council of Glasgow, erecting them into a corporative body, by the name of the Glasgow Society for promoting Astronomical Science. The funds of this society have been raised by 250 transferable shares of 201. each, which are held as heritable property.

1

The Observatory stands on Garnet-Hill, about a mile to the N. W. of the Cross. The situation is unquestionably the best which could have been selected in the neighbourhood of the City, as the prevailing winds carry the smoke of the Town in other directions, and there is no eminence near Glasgow from which the prospect is so extensive and beautiful. Mr. Webster of London gave the designs; they are in the Egyptian style of architecture; and were examined, and approven of, by several eminent Astronomers. The building is divided into three compartments; the centre one constitutes the Scientific Observatory, and is crowned with a revolving cupola; the east division forms the Popular Observatory, where the Subscribers have the use of astronomical instruments, and treatises connected with the science; the west compartment is fitted up for the accommodation of the Observer, and other necessary purposes. In the Scientific Observatory, there are three massive stone pedestals; to one of them, a sideral clock is attached; on another pedestal, twenty feet high, (which brings the instrument within the revolving cupola,) is placed an excellent azimuth and altitude instrument, which is capable of being fitted up as an equatorial; on the other pedestal, is to be placed a large mural circle preparing by Troughton. The Popular Observatory is provided with a complete set of instruments for astronomical observations; an Herschelian telescope, ten feet

long, is used on the terrace, in front of the centre compartment of the Observatory, where the projecting wings of the building afford a shelter from the wind. There are several other telescopes of different kinds, globes, sextants, theodolites, &c. in this part of the Observatory; a fourteen feet Herschelian telescope is placed on the roof; an anti-room is occupied by a camera obscura; and a solar microscope, and other valuable instruments, are to be immediately added to this department of the Observatory.

This valuable Institution, which is not exceeded but by the Greenwich Observatory, has been honoured by the approbation of the most eminent Astronomers in the country. Dr. Herschel, who has repeatedly visited the Observatory, has been liberal in his approbation. The Subscribers are not only entitled to introduce their families to the Observatory, but also Non-Subscribers who live at more than six miles distance from Glasgow.

Dr. Ure, Professor of Natural Philosophy in the Andersonian Institution, displayed great zeal and perseverance in the formation of this Institution. The Doctor was the first Observer and Superintendent, and has been succeeded by Mr. John Cross, an eminent Mathematician, formerly Professor of Mathematics in the Andersonian Institution. Mr. Cross has also been appointed to teach Astronomy, and its practical application to navigation, &c.

Managers, 1815.

John More, Esq. Preses.

Andrew Templeton, Esq. Treasurer.
William Gray, Esq. Secretary.

Directors.

Kirkman Finlay, M. P.
Professor Mylne, College.
John Lockhart, D. D.

John Geddes.

William M'Gavin.

Walter Moodie.

[blocks in formation]

GLASGOW PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY.

In the community of Glasgow, where so much talent has been displayed, and capital employed in the formation and improvement of machinery, by which new facilities have been given to the manufactories, and the price of labour consequently reduced, it is surprising that a society for encouraging philosophical pursuits, aud the farther improvement of the arts had not been long ago established.

In November 1802, a few gentlemen, impressed with the advantages which would likely arise from pursuits of this nature, formed themselves into a Society, which had for its object the general diffusion of knowledge, and where its Members, by their frequent intercourse, would have an opportunity of discussing the merits of new suggestions, of reading essays on philosophical subjects, and exhibiting models for the improvement of machinery.

The Society is governed by a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary, Librarian, and twelve Directors. The Members consist of three classes, viz. Resident, Honorary, and Corresponding; the two latter receive diplomas, without any gratuity. No person can be admitted a Resident Member, unless he is proposed by three Members, and received, by ballot, at an ordinary meeting. Each Member pays three guineas of admission-money, and one-half guinea yearly, which entitles him to the use of Philosophical Treatises from the Library, and the other benefits of the Society.

Managers for 1816.

James Fleming, Esq. President.
James Boaz, Esq. Secretary.
Robert Hastie, Vice-President.
Thomas Muir, Treasurer.
J. M'Causland, Librarian.

Directors.

James Cook.

Peter Fleming.

James Watt, M. D.
James Thomson.

John Nimmo, M. D.
William Duncan.

James Denholm.

James Lumsden.

John Lindsay.

John Geddes.

Robert Watt, M. D.
Professor Meikleham.

WILSON'S CHARITY.

Mr. George Wilson, the Founder of this Charity, was a native of Glasgow; he died at London on the 26th of April 1778; and, by his will, which was proven at Doctors' Commons, on the 6th of May 1778, he appointed his good friends, John Bogle, Esq. merchant, Thomas Brown, Esq. surgeon, and John Jamieson, Esq. surgeon, all of Glasgow, to be the executors and administrators of his will. These gentlemen having been joined by the Rev. Dr. John Gillies, Rev. Dr. Robert Findlay, and the Rev. Dr. John Corse, three of the Ministers of the City, these six elected the following gentlemen to be Governors of the Charity, viz.

Rev. Dr. William Craig, Rev. Dr. John Hamilton, Rev. Dr. Wm. Porteous, Hon. William French, Lord Provost, ex officio, Alexander Donald, Baillie, do. Alexander Brown, Baillie, do. William Craig, Baillie, do. Alexander M'Caul, Dean of Guild, do. John Jamieson, Convener of the Trades' House, do. John Brown, Jun. merchant, Robert Carrick, banker, William Coats, merchant, John Douglas, do. Robert Dinwiddie, do. Gilbert Hamilton, do. Robert Barclay, writer, Alexander Speirs, merchant, John Bowman, do. John Glassford, do. James Coulter, do. Daniel Baxter, bookseller, James Dunlop, merchant, John Campbell, do. Dr. Rev. Robert Balfour.

By the deed of mortification, it is enjoined, that the Governors and Boys do attend divine service on one day of the year; which the Governors has fixed for the 26th of April, being

« ÖncekiDevam »